Table 2

Organisations involved in guidance for medical education for each region included in this review

Africa (Egypt, Ethiopia, Nigeria)National Authority for Quality Assurance and Accreditation of Education (Egyptian Cabinet)
Higher Education Relevance and Quality Agency (HERQA)
Medical and Dental Council of Nigeria
National Postgraduate Medical College of Nigeria (NPMCN)
Australia and New ZealandAustralian Medical Council (AMC)
Medical Deans Australia and New Zealand
Medical Board of Australia
Confederation of Postgraduate Medical Education Councils
The Royal Australian College of General Practitioners (RACGP)
The Royal New Zealand College of General Practitioners (RNZCGP)
ChinaWorking Committee for the Accreditation of Medical Education
National Health and Family Planning Commission (NHFPC)
Chinese Medical Doctor Association
India, Sri Lanka, Nepal and BangladeshMedical Council of India*
Sri Lanka Medical Council
Nepal Medical Council
Bangladesh Medical and Dental Council
Europe (Germany, Kazakhstan, Russian Federation, Spain, Sweden, Turkey)MEDINE (Thematic Network for Medical Education in Europe)
Independent Agency for Accreditation and Rating (IAAR)
Swedish Higher Education Authority
Federal Ministry of Justice and Consumer Protection, Germany
The Turkish National Accreditation Council for Medical Education’s (UTEAK) Association for Evaluation and Accreditation of Medical Education Programs (TEPDAD)
The National Agency for Quality Assessment and Accreditation (Agencia Nacional de Evaluación de la Calidad y Acreditación; ANECA)
The German Medical Association
The National Centre for Public Accreditation, Russia
Turkish Medical Association
National Commission for the Specialty of Endocrinology and Nutrition, Spain
North America and CanadaLiaison Committee on Medical Education (LCME)
American Association of Medical Colleges (AAMC)
Federation of State Medical Boards (FSMB)
National Board of Medical Examiners (NBME)
Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME)
American Academy of Family Physicians (AAFP)
The College of Family Physicians of Canada
South America (Mexico)Council for the Accreditation of Higher Learning (El Consejo para la Acreditación de la Educación Superior, AC; COPAES)
Mexican Board for Accreditation of Medical Education (Consejo Mexicano para la Acreditación de la Educación Médica; COMAEM)
UK and Northern Ireland (England, Scotland, Northern Ireland)General Medical Council (GMC)
The Scottish Deans’ Medical Curriculum Group
Academy of Medical Royal Colleges (AoMRC), Northern Ireland Medical and Dental Training Agency (MDTA), Cardiff and Vale University Health Board, NHS Health Education England, Department of Health
Royal College of General Practitioners (RCGP)
  • *The Medical Council of India was superseded by the National Medical Commission on 26 September 2018.